Skip to main content

National Photographic Portrait Prize 2018

8 March 2018

Images for media use will be available from 8 March 2018.

National Photographic Portrait Prize 2018 Finalists Announced

The National Portrait Gallery has announced the 43 finalists for the 2018 National Photographic Portrait Prize, selected from an astounding 3,224 entries.

The judging panel for this year included the Portrait Gallery’s Senior Curator Christopher Chapman, contemporary artist and photographer Petrina Hicks and curator of Contemporary Design and International Art at the Art Gallery of Western Australia Robert Cooke.

Christopher Chapman believes the intensive initial judging process was vital to the selection of the 43 outstanding finalists. The judges will reconvene in March to select the winners for the Prize.

‘Huddled together in the viewing room, we quickly realised that each of us valued different elements in photographic portraiture very strongly,’ said Christopher Chapman.

‘As the finalist group was determined our discussions grew increasingly vigorous as we debated what it was that made each individual photograph stand out from the rest.’

‘It’s always the case that different judges will bring different points of view to the selection process, and it is fascinating to reflect on how particular photographs continue to remain at the forefront as the selection becomes increasingly focused.’

‘Viewers can expect to see photographic portraits that depict people who are calm, strong and authentic.’

The finalists for the National Photographic Portrait Prize 2018 are:

Michele Aboud, Scott Anthony Andrews, Lara Del Arte, Zia Atahi, Julia Ann Cameron, Brett Canet-Gibson, Timothy James Coad, Eva Collins, Harold David Combs, Adrian Cook, Tamara Dean, Alex Ellinghausen, Adam Ferguson, Tiffany Jane Garvie, Bill Gekas, Saleheh Gholami, Douglas Philip Gimesy, Lee Grant, Holly Granville-Edge, Gary Grealy, Rhett Hammerton, James Horan, Lyndal Irons, Dianne Jones, Kristyn Jones, Dave Laslett, Stuart Miller, Emma Phillips, Joel Brian Pratley, David Prichard, Filomena Rizzo, David Rosetzky, Laura Sikes, Stephanie Simcox, Anna Sinclair, Hugh Snelgrove, Renée Stamatova, Jacqui Stockdale, George Voulgaropoulos, Marzena Wasikowska, Nicole Katherine Wells

The Winner, Highly Commended, and Art Handlers’ Awards will all be announced in March next year.

The Winner will receive a $30,000 cash prize courtesy of the Portrait Gallery, $15,000 of lighting equipment and accessories from Profoto, and $5,000 of paper and film supplies from Ilford.

The Highly Commended will receive an Eizo ColourEdge Editing Monitor valued up to $4,000, courtesy of Eizo.

The Art Handlers’ Award recipient will receive $2,000 cash plus return shipping of their artwork after the regional tour courtesy of International Art Services (IAS).

The National Photographic Portrait Prize 2018 exhibition will be on display at the National Portrait Gallery from 24 March 2018 until 17 June 2018, before touring the country.

Individuals will be able to vote for their favourite portrait in the People’s Choice from 24 March 2018. The People’s Choice winner will receive a Pro-1000 printer valued at $1,799, plus a maintenance cartridge and paper to the value of $200 thanks to Sun Studios. One lucky voter will win an accommodation package courtesy of Crowne Plaza Canberra to the value of $2,000.