Skip to main content
Reg Richardson AM, 2014 by Mitch Cairns
Reg Richardson AM, 2014 by Mitch Cairns

The Gallery thanks you for your donations towards the acquisition of this acclaimed portrait of Reg Richardson AM, by Mitch Cairns. A finalist in the Archibald Prize 2014, and a great example of minimalist portraiture.

We would be grateful for any support you may like to provide toward the acquisition of future works.

In 2007, Reg Richardson was made a Member of the Order of Australia for service to the visual arts as a supporter, patron and collector, and to the community through a range of social welfare and medical research organisations. Now, Richardson’s passion is encouraging well-to-do Australians to make charitable contributions; his own contributions combine with those he has coaxed from others to comprise some $120 million for the public good.

The artist, Mitch Cairns, was a finalist in the Archibald in 2013, 2014 and 2015; he was named runner-up in 2014 and 2015, with this portrait of Richardson and a portrait of Peter Powditch. Cairns’s curriculum vitae explains

His painting is neither tough nor trivial … Cairns uses paint to point out how lived experience is quickly regurgitated as idiomatic expression.

Supporters 2015-16

Professor Peter Bailey AM OBE
Janet Bamford
Maria Bendall
Virginia Berger
Robert Blacklow
Keith Bradley
Mary Brennan
Christine Clark
Sam Cullen AM
Marlene Danza
Decerna Pty Ltd
Philip Flood AO & Carole Flood
Margaret Frey
Dr Peter Fullagar & Helen Topor
Robin Gibson
Marion Hill
Meredith Hinchliffe
Claudia Hyles
Dr Peter Jeffrey & Gina Jeffrey
Gillian Kempton
Richard King
Edward Kruger & Gerry Kruger
Naomi Landau
Lawsoft Pty Ltd
Geoff Ledger
Frank Lewincamp & Barbara Lewincamp
David Lewis OAM
Lloyd Marshall
Shirley McCorkindale
Debra Mullins
Susan Parsons
Jane Romeyn
Dr Judith Slee
Margaret Smith
Professor Ken Taylor AM & Maggie Taylor
John Werrett
Professor David Williams & Margaret Williams

Supporters 2016-17

Ross Gough
Diana O’Neil
Dr Anthony Nicholls
Rosamond Shepherd
Allan Sharp
Susan Sutton
Janet Neustein
Margaret Reid
Richard Forster & Carolyn Forster
Reg Richardson AM
Paddy & Karen Costanzo
Emma Noonan
Meryl Joyce
Dean Daniel
Anna-Rosa Baker
Trevor Rice
Dr Penny Johnson & Professor Nicholas Evans
Ann Crewe
Naomi Landau
Sam Cole
Dr Marian Hill
Gillian & John Kempton
Frank & Barbara Lewincamp
Anthony & Julie Nicholls