Skip to main content

Billy McMahon
, 1972

by Frank Hinder

fibre- tipped pen, wash on paper (sheet: 26.5 cm x 21.8 cm)

Sir William McMahon was the 20th prime minister, in office from March 1971 to December 1972. The Liberal-Country coalition held government from 1949 until the end of 1972, when Gough Whitlam won the election for the Labor Party on the premise that ‘It’s time.’

Collection: National Portrait Gallery, Canberra
Gift of HOTA (Home of the Arts), Gold Coast 2019 with the encouragement of Patrick Corrigan AM
Accession number: 2019.18