Skip to main content

Society of Artists Selection Committee, 1907

Henry King

gelatin silver photograph (sheet: 15.0 cm x 20.6 cm, image: 15.0 cm x 20.6 cm)

The Society of Artists was formed when a group including Tom Roberts and Arthur Streeton broke away from the Royal Art Society of New South Wales in 1895. Membership was confined to professional artists. The Society held regular exhibitions until 1902 when, lured by the government’s promise of an £800 travelling scholarship, the two societies re-amalgamated. In 1907, the Society of Artists broke away once more. This photograph depicts the committee who determined which (or whose) works would be exhibited in the Society’s annual show. The sitters, left to right, are: artist Julian Ashton (1851–1942); artist’s model and muse Rose Lindsay (née Soady, 1885–1978); cartoonist Harry Weston (1874–1938); artists Will Dyson (1880–1938) and Norman Lindsay (1879–1969); a sitter identified as ‘young Souter’; artist Sydney Long (1871–1955); and cartoonist and journalist David Souter (1862–1935).

The Society held regular exhibitions until the 1940s, but its influence dwindled with the formation of other groups, notably the Contemporary Art Society, and gradually it ceased to operate altogether.

Collection: National Portrait Gallery

Accession number: 2008.62

Currently on display: Gallery Four (Liangis Gallery)

Copyright image request form
Request a digital copy of an image for publication

Artist and subject

Henry King (age 52 in 1907)

Julian Ashton (age 56 in 1907)

Rose Lindsay (age 22 in 1907)

Harry Weston

Will Dyson (age 27 in 1907)

Norman Lindsay (age 28 in 1907)

Sid Long

D. H. Souter (age 45 in 1907)

Subject professions

Visual arts and crafts


© National Portrait Gallery 2019
King Edward Terrace, Parkes
Canberra, ACT 2600, Australia

Phone +61 2 6102 7000
Fax +61 2 6102 7001
ABN: 54 74 277 1196
The National Portrait Gallery acknowledges the Ngunnawal people, the traditional custodians of the land upon which the NPG stands.