Skip to main content

Whitlam & Snedden
, 1974

by Frank Hinder

fibre-tipped pen on paper (frame: 40.3 cm x 32.9 cm, sheet: 25.3 cm x 19.6 cm)

Edward Gough Whitlam AC QC (1916–2014) was born in Melbourne, educated in Canberra and Sydney, and admitted to the Bar after war service with the RAAF. He won the Federal seat of Werriwa in 1952, was deputy leader of the ALP from 1960 to 1967, and was then its leader until the end of 1977, a record term for the party. Having campaigned with the slogan ‘It’s Time’, Whitlam was elected Prime Minister in December 1972, instituting a number of major social reforms before his government was dismissed in 1975. Whitlam was succeeded as ALP leader by Bill Hayden following the party’s defeat in the 1977 election. Whitlam retired from politics in 1978. Sir Billy Snedden KCMG (1926–1987), Liberal politician, was first elected to federal parliament in 1955. A QC from Melbourne, he held the post of Attorney General in the Menzies government from 1964 to 1967. He was federal Treasurer in 1971 and 1972, before replacing Billy McMahon as leader of the Liberal Party, edging out Malcolm Fraser for the position. At 45, he was the party’s youngest ever leader. In 1974 he narrowly lost the election to Gough Whitlam. The following year Snedden was replaced as leader by Fraser. Snedden remained Speaker of the House of Representatives from 1976 to 1983.

Collection: National Portrait Gallery, Canberra
Gift of Enid Hawkins 2003
Donated through the Australian Government's Cultural Gifts Program
Accession number: 2003.8