Skip to main content

Digital Portraiture Award


Thursday 2 August until Sunday 28 October 2012

The inaugural iD Digital Portraiture Award is an annual event intended to extend traditional notions of portraiture and reflects the National Portrait Gallery’s commitment to fostering emerging artists between the ages of 18 and 30 years old with an interest in contemporary technology.

With the generous support of Macquarie Group Foundation, the National Portrait Gallery is offering a $10,000 bursary to the artist judged to have made the most outstanding screen-based digital portrait.

The artist awarded the iD Digital Portraiture Award for 2012 will be given the opportunity to undertake an artist residency of up to four weeks at the Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts (PICA) one of Australia’s leading centres for the development and presentation of contemporary art.

A trio of judges viewed the 60 entries received and they have selected five compelling digital portraits for the exhibition iD2012 on view at the National Portrait Gallery from 2 August to 28 October 2012.

The 2012 judging panel members are: Dr Christopher Chapman, Senior Curator, National Portrait Gallery; and guest judges Amy Barrett-Lennard, Director, Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts; and Felicity Fenner, Chief Curator, National Institute for Experimental Arts and Acting Director, COFA Galleries at the University of NSW.

The finalists are Aaron James McGarry, Laura Moore, Nina Mulhall, Clare Thackway and Bridget Walker. Their entries will be available to watch online after the exhibition has closed.