Skip to main content

Canberra Symphony Orchestra


Thursday 31 August 2017
6:30 – 8:30pm
Copeman, gardener, Great Yarmouth by John Dempsey
Copeman, gardener, Great Yarmouth by John Dempsey

In what promises to be a feast for the senses, the National Portrait Gallery and the Canberra Symphony Orchestra present the inaugural Australian Series; three unique programs of cutting-edge home-grown musical composition which are curated to compliment special exhibitions at the National Portrait Gallery.

The Australian Series has been conceived by Prof. Matthew Hindson AM, the brilliant Australian composer and Head of Composition at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, who will curate and compere each performance.  Following each hour-long concert there will be a private after-hours viewing of the feature exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery. 

‘Forgotten’ is the last of the three Australian Series programs.  The program features music that has been paired with the warm and joyous exhibition Portraits from the 1820s by John Dempsey.

Tickets are $45, which includes both entry to the concert as well as the private after-hours viewing of the exhibition.  For more information, and to purchase tickets, please visit the Canberra Symphony Orchestra website

Bookings essential

$45 (includes entry to the exhibition)
Bookings: Canberra Symphony Orchestra website

Thursday 31 August 2017
6:30pm – 8:30pm